Why I Refuse to Share Autism Memes Anymore

Are your children treated equally?

Sam H Arnold

--

Authors own photo

I have written extensively about what a proud parent I am of my autistic daughter. I share my experience because I am proud of her and her journey; every simple step is a mountain. I also share because if my experiences help one parent, then my writing was worthwhile. It is also essential for us parents to know we are not alone in this journey.

Like many parents with autism, I have shared many a meme on my Facebook. You know the type ‘I love someone with autism.’ Today though, I took a moment and didn’t post because it struck me never once in two years have I posted a meme that said, ‘I love a neuro-typical kid.’

When we live our lives on social media, bar a massive solar storm that takes all technology out, the memories we are recording will be about for many years to come. Our children will be able to trail back through social media when they are old enough and see what we shared, they will go red-faced at their baby photos, but secretly they will love it. I don’t want my youngest scrolling back and seeing all the messages of support for her sister and none for her.

I don’t want her to feel that because we didn’t share a meme about her, we didn’t love her as much because nothing could be further from the truth. She is as loved as her…

--

--

Sam H Arnold

My writing is now on Substack. Find me there for True Crime, Writing Tips, Books and Fiction - https://substack.com/@samharnold